• Mon. Jun 5th, 2023

The Right Mag

Voice of Unheard

Top unknown facts about Kannada Rajyotsava Which you can’t afford to miss out!!

Oct 31, 2021

Rajyotsava (meaning ‘state festival’) commemorates this day in 1956 when the state of Karnataka was created by merging
all the Kannada language-speaking regions of south India. Following India becoming a republic in 1950, different provinces were created based on the languages spoken in a particular region.

Founder of Karnataka

Banavasi Kadamba
The Kadambas are considered the earliest indigenous rulers of Karnataka. Its founder was Mayurasharma and its most powerful ruler was Kakusthavarma. The Kadamba name is attributed to the Kadamba tree that was grown near the place where the empire was founded.

Karwar is named as “Kashmir of Karnataka” by Rabindranath Tagore on his visit to Karwar.Interestingly, Noble laureate Rabindranath Tagore visited Karwar to meet his uncle, Devendranath Tagore. His uncle was posted in Karwar as the district collector. Tagore was truly taken aback by the beauty of Karwar beach and the surrounding areas. So much so, that he termed, Karwar as the Kashmir of Karnataka.


The Kannada flag, a strip of yellow and red, symbolise Kannada and Karnataka, where yellow represents ‘Arisina’ (Haladi) and red represents ‘Kumkuma’. Kannadigas who have been worshipping Goddess Chamundeshwari, Yellamma and the state Goddess Bhuvaneshwari from thousands of years identify themselves with the ‘Arisina’ (yellow) and ‘Kumkuma’ (red) flag, which is a symbol of ‘Soubhagya’ signifying peace and courage respectively. The Karnataka flag does not represent separatist ideology and is always hoisted at a lower height than that of Tri-color. It is hoisted every year by Chief Minister of Karnataka on Karnataka Rajyotsava.

Karnataka was renamed

Mysore was governed by a British commissioner from 1831 to 1881, when administration was once again restored to the Wadiyars. The last of the Wadiyars became governor of the state after territorial reorganizations in 1953 and 1956. The state was renamed Karnataka in 1973.

Karnataka State Formation

The Reorganization Act, 1956 merged the parts of Coorg, Madras, Hyderabad and Bombay into the Mysore State. Belgaum (except Chandgad Taluk), Bijapur, Dharwar, and North Canara were transferred from Bombay State to the Mysore State. Bellary district was transferred to Mysore State from Andhra State. South Canara was transferred from Madras State. Koppal, Raichur, Gulbarga and Bidar districts were transferred from Hyderabad State. Coorg also became a district of Mysore State. The state was renamed Karnataka on 1 November 1973. There are 19 districts in Karnataka when the state was formed.

Kannada Rajyotsava Celebrations

Kannadigas celebrate Kannada Rajyotsava across the state without any distinction of religion, caste and gender. Many people celebrate Kannada Rajyotsava by hoisting the Karnataka State flags (red and yellow) and chanting of the Kannada anthem (Jaya Bharatha Jananiya Tanujate). The celebrations also include carrying of multicoloured tableaux along with performances of the folk artists and classical Carnatic music. The State Government of Karnataka announces Rajyotsava awards, which are awarded on this day. The Rajyotsava awards are awarded to people who contribute to the development of the state.

Kannada Rajyotsava Flag

Students can consider the official flag of a Karnataka (Kannada flag) to participate in school activities. The Kannada flag was designed and popular during pro-Kannada movements in the 1960s. The yellow-red flag is present everywhere across the state starting from atop buildings to road junctions.

Language spoken in Karnataka

there are 50 languages that are spoken in Karnataka, eight are potentially endangered and two critical endangered, according to a survey conducted by the Peoples’ Linguistic Survey of India (PLSI), an organisation that is conducting a nation-wide survey of Indian languages.

Karnataka State has been divided into four Revenue divisions, 49 sub-divisions, 27 districts, 175 taluks and 745 hoblies/Revenue Circles for administrative purposes. The State has 27,028 inhabited and 2,362 uninhabited villages, 281 towns and urban agglomerations.

Leave a Reply Cancel reply